4x4x48

March 29th, 2023

This past weekend I personally embarked on a physical and mental challenge that had remained in the back parts of my mind for the previous months. Titled the “4x4x48” it is a challenge popularized by David Goggins. Participants must run (or walk) 4 miles, every 4 hours (on the hour) for 48 hours. 48 miles are covered over 2 days. Alternatively, someone could work out or do a different type of workout for the period they would normally take to run 4 miles, typically 40 minutes to an hour. I chose to run.

The challenge is not a competition with anyone but yourself. There are no awards for running the 4 miles at a faster pace. All that matters is the rules are followed and the job is finished. At the same time, no matter your background, the 4x4x48 poses a challenge because of the interval aspect. 4 hours is not a long time for a break especially when the run cuts into that 4 hours. This means that over the course of 2 days, there is no possibility to sleep more than 3 hours at a time. The challenge was created to promote fatigue. Both physical and mental abilities are pushed to the limit.

I had great support from my family who helped create an environment to help me achieve. I successfully completed the challenge after initially starting it on a Thursday at 8:00 PM. This meant from Thursday at 8:00 PM until Saturday after my 4:00 PM run I was on the clock. 12 legs of 4 miles were completed every 4 hours. I learned a lot and had certain themes running through my head when I was on the clock.

My personal capability was a main learning I found. I was hesitant to post anything about me starting the challenge because I was worried I would fail to complete it. I was worried I would fail not because of a lack of mental fortitude or physical ability. I was worried because I was unsure how my surgically repaired ankle and Achilles would respond to the interval beating it would take. I now know how resilient the human body is and on a more personal level, steps I can take to minimize my previous injuries hindering any future performance. My ankle issues were nothing more than a minor detail of the main journey and did very little to derail my performance. On the second day, my legs were extremely tired and physically I was drained— but I never felt physically incapable. My body responded well and enabled me to keep going.

A theme that kept coming back to me was “No one cares, keep working.” This thought came to me throughout the second day. I did this journey mostly alone with only one leg running with others. All the other legs it was simply me and the road. Me and my 1-2, 1-2, 1-2 cadence of my feet hitting the tarmac. Almost no one outside of my immediate support system and group of friends knew what I was doing. All the cars and strangers I passed by, no one asked what I was doing. No one noticed I passed by the same houses 9 times on the same route (3 legs were at a different location). The journey was a battle of me vs me. No one cares, keep working.

Another theme centered around the temporary state of pain. I was in the hurt locker for the vast majority of the second day. My steps hurt, my running form deteriorated, blisters covered my toes, and I was more tired than I could previously remember. Through it all I knew I was in a temporary state of discomfort. I knew at the end of the 48 hours I would get a full night of sleep and begin to recover. Writing this now, my legs and spirit feel physically stronger than before the ordeal. Pain and discomfort are temporary states which often propel us to further growth.

Countless other thoughts and feelings flashed through my mind over the course of the 48 hours. I felt lows and discomfort I have not experienced in a long time. I also found joy in straining for an extreme goal, it pushed me to finish. I felt uniquely alone at times on the runs, especially at 4:00 AM, but not the sort of alone that scares you. It was the sort of alone which made me feel alive. For a full-length video breakdown of my journey please head to my YouTube channel here. I have successfully completed the 4x4x48 challenge in 2023, the question is what is next?

Reply

or to participate.