Appreciate the Little Things

February 11th, 2023

I wrote recently about the importance of taking time to celebrate the small wins in life. I wrote about how these small wins help to propel us forward to the larger goals we are working towards. Today I want to write about how taking time to appreciate the little things in life can increase our happiness. Today’s focus takes us away from the normal “goal-oriented” stance I take and instead places us into a mode of reflection and appreciation. Life is a journey and if we focus too much on the past or the future, we can get lost. We live in the now. Appreciating the now helps realign our perspectives even if only for a brief moment.

The little things in life we need to be cognizant of can be anything. Normally the little things are small, unexpected moments that bring about joy. They are shocks that bring us away from what is troubling us and place us directly in the present. They momentarily cause everything else to fall away. They could be a stranger complementing your outfit, finding an extra Cheeto at the bottom of the bag, your dog running to see you when you get home, or your partner making you coffee in the morning without you asking. They are not life-changing moments but can be some of life’s best moments. Moments like these, when appreciated, can alter the course of our days for the better.

The “little things” I personally enjoy the most are creations of the natural world. As I have aged and experienced new places, my appreciation for the beauty of the natural world has only increased. There are few moments in my life that compare to the feelings I receive from being in nature. However, I no longer need to turn a corner and see a waterfall to experience a feeling of awe. I can gaze at the pink and purple hues of a pretty sunrise, I can investigate a tree I like, or cross paths with a gecko outside—it does not need to be life-changing to be appreciated.

I touched on this topic because I believe our society constantly pushes to the next thing. We are asked where we want to be in 5 years, we have hopes and dreams for the future, and we work today to be better tomorrow. When we are young we cannot wait to turn 16, we cannot wait to get to college, we cannot wait to turn 21, we cannot wait to graduate. We are always looking forward. We always want that next big thing. We tell ourselves we will be happy when we have that house, that car, or that promotion. Not a lot of deliberate mental real estate is set aside to appreciate the now. Finding things to appreciate in the now can help us slow down to take perspective on the beauty of where we are.

Join the conversation

or to participate.