Journaling

January 23rd, 2023

I have written daily in a journal most of the days since November 2021. It started as a weird practice but quickly morphed into just part of my day. I believe writing down my thoughts with pen and paper has had a large impact on how I navigate both the blessings and the hardships of my life. Over this time I have experimented with various formats for how I journal. The one constant I always start with is a list of people, things, feelings, or anything I am thankful for. I write down 6 points I am thankful for every time I journal. I feel a sense of calmness during this practice because writing down what I am thankful for prompts me to realize these pieces of my life in a conscious way. No matter what is going on in my life, journaling is a reset for a new day.

The rest of my journaling habit has changed over the months. Sometimes I write three tasks I want to accomplish over the day and a skill I want to improve. Sometimes I have an “other thoughts” section where I put miscellaneous thoughts and plans. The one other constant I always have is a “daily debrief” section. I usually write what I am thankful for in the morning shortly after starting my day, and then fill in the daily debrief section at the end of the day. I do it this way so I have a positive start to my day, thinking of what I am thankful for, and then a solo reflection period of what I did over the day, what worked and what did not, what was positive and what was negative, what I enjoyed and what I did not enjoy. I have found this morning and evening practice helps me to close each day and prepare for the next.

In a way, this newsletter has become a public journal for me. I am not necessarily discussing my personal life on a day-to-day basis but I am delving deeper into thoughts and ideas existing within my mind. I have found great enjoyment in using written words to explore my thoughts and share them in a public manner. This habit has become a daily outlet where I can fully realize my thoughts and feelings about the topics I discuss.

I recognize the act of physically writing your thoughts with pen and paper is not for everyone. Neither is typing out your thoughts. I do believe solo reflection time is one of the more important things you can do in your life. Another alternative to journaling is leaving yourself voice notes that can be played back. These voice memos serve as a vocal form of journaling and may be easier than committing to writing on a daily basis. If you do not currently journal, any practice you can start will feel awkward and weird to start. I have yet to write about “solitude” but firmly believe time to yourself is one of the most important activities you can include to lead a better and more healthy life. I encourage all of you to find a way to make some sort of self-reflection a habit.

Join the conversation

or to participate.