Self-Talk

February 15th, 2023

The human mind is an incredibly powerful force of nature. The saying “Mind over Matter” is true for many challenges we encounter. What our mind tells us is what we will believe and what we believe is what we will do. I have previously discussed how self-doubt can hurt us or be used as a viable challenge for us to improve. Self-doubt originates within ourselves, just like today’s topic, self-talk.

Self-talk can be positive or negative but both come from the same place, our minds. Like self-doubt, self-talk can produce either positive or negative effects on our lives. In my recent pursuits of becoming a better runner, I have encountered numerous situations where my mind is done before my body has reached its limit. These runs end poorly unless I switch my mindset and think more positively. Once I give into the negative self-talk, it is hard to reverse the damage. On the flip side, I have had runs where my body is aching that I have found second winds because I have told myself that I am not tired. By vocally telling myself I can do something, I find a greater sense of ability. Where the mind goes, the body will follow.

I most frequently use positive self-talk when I am enduring a physical challenge. Long runs, heavy lifts, and waking up early are all physical areas where what my mind says goes. I must be careful to use positive self-talk in these situations and not let my mind negotiate to find the easy way out. Self-talk is not limited to living in the physical genre and has helped me succeed in multiple other areas. I have also used self-talk prior to interviews, giving speeches, or other important tests and assignments.

“I am good enough.”

“I can run faster.”

“I am not cold.”

“I don’t need that donut.”

“I know I can do this.”

Or click here to see David Goggins use vocal self-talk

Whatever affirmations or reassurances you need, self-talk will help you get through. Self-talk probably occurs in everyone’s minds on a daily basis but I believe making vocal self-talk is the more positive experience. I understand the uncomfortable feelings vocal self-talk can bring when first practiced. I know because I am someone still trying to unlock the full effects of using vocal self-talk. I tend to feel embarrassed about talking to myself when I am on a run or staring at the squat rack, but I also find my spoken thoughts overpower any negative thoughts more easily than if I had kept the positive self-talk in my mind. I am continuing to practice self-talk methods and encourage all of you to open up to this practice. Tricking the mind into thinking things are easier is a science we need to unlock to realize our potential. Self-talk unlocks some of this potential.

Join the conversation

or to participate.