Tests

February 24th, 2023

Tests are a common assessment of seeing where our preparation has taken us. Tests provide us with the option to receive black-and-white feedback on where we stand. Tests can be used as individual measuring sticks or as larger comparison points for our peers. As we age and evolve out of schooling systems, tests seem to be much less common in a traditional sense. However, finding ways to test ourselves in the real world can give us feedback we need to keep going, change our methods, or help us realign our goals.

Everyone has taken a test before. The most common test that comes to mind is probably a test in school. In school, our value compared to our peers was based on the standard test grade and ultimately our grades in our classes. These grades were feedback based on how well we prepared, and then ultimately performed on different assignments. It is a general assumption that those who prepared more performed better. After finishing our schooling journey this type of test largely disappears. Yes, there are still certification tests we may have to take for our careers but in a general sense, the idea of taking a math test every chapter is gone. With fewer tests in our lives, we can find ourselves not being realistic with where we are in terms of progress or in terms of ability compared to others. It is a good thing to step outside of an individual silo and see where we stack up.

We can test ourselves in any field or area of our life. The important aspect of these tests is they are set up in ways that give us direct feedback. A test cannot have an option for us to open our notes and look up answers, it cannot have the ability for us to back out and try again tomorrow. When we take the test, that is the opportunity. We prepare prior and reflect on how we did after. The test should be direct feedback on where we are in life.

The inspiration for today’s topic comes from a test I have tomorrow. I have a 15k (9.3-mile race) tomorrow that I have been actively training for over the last 7 weeks. This race will serve as a test to see how much I have improved and to show where I stand compared to others. Post-race, I am excited to debrief, reflect, and set my new challenge in this field. The test is either going to humble me or give me a sense of achievement. I am okay with either because I know how I have prepared. Tomorrow, all I need to do is take the test.

Reply

or to participate.