Try New Things

January 22nd, 2023

Many people do not try new things because they fear failure and they do not know when to just start. I wrote about why I embrace failure yesterday and have previously written about the importance of just starting something. Embracing failure and just starting are two core pillars of having the ability to try new things. Everyone fails, and everyone is hesitant to dive into new experiences.

There is power in new beginnings, in fresh starts, and in trying new things. Writing this newsletter has been a “new thing” for me. Never before have I written on a daily basis in the way I have since January 1st. I have noticed as I go through this process, the words are coming easier, and the flow I enter while writing comes in more frequent waves. I now look forward to writing and coming up with topics to discuss. I have spoken previously about my running journey, running was also a new thing for me to dive into and is now an almost daily part of my life. I swam laps at a pool today for one of the first times in many years. I am looking forward to this becoming a weekly activity for me. In the pool was where I found the inspiration to write about this topic today. It was weird and awkward swimming laps consistently for the first time, but that is the point. New activities, and new things, should not come easy! They are new to you for a reason, they are unfamiliar. It is in the unfamiliarity and the consistent effort to improve where you can then grow and evolve as a person. Reflect on skills or activities you find easy, think back to when you just started, and realize the growth you have had. At one point, everything you do used to be a “new thing.”

I firmly believe trying new things can materialize in any aspect of your life. These “new things” could be something as simple as trying a new type of food, or as life-changing as switching the industry you work in. They can be inherently mental such as trying to see a different viewpoint of a discussion or trying a different method of studying for a test. Embracing the difficulty or fear of new activities and new experiences only helps you better see the payoff of your attempts in the long run. Trying new things will open up infinitely more perspectives, opportunities, and experiences than if you stayed in your previous routine.

Join the conversation

or to participate.