The Powers of Visualization

February 16th, 2023

Think about what you want to do today.

Think about what you want to accomplish over the next week.

Then the next month.

Now close your eyes and visualize what you need to do to get there. Spend a couple of minutes on this task.

By visualizing what we can do and how we get there, we are setting ourselves up for success. The idea for today’s topic comes from writing about self-talk yesterday. Like self-talk, visualization is a tool we can use to trick our minds into being more positive. There are numerous studies and numerous athletes who use the power of visualization to succeed. A quick Google search told me that 70-90% of Olympic athletes use visualization methods. You can even check out this short clip of Kobe Bryant talking about how he visualized. Visualization goes far beyond just the sports world as countless high-level executives have stated their support for the practice. I firmly believe no matter what is going on in your life, adding visualization techniques will promote more success. High performers use visualization because it works. The effects of visualization go far beyond simply imagining outcomes.

That being said, visualization is by no means the factor guaranteeing success. Visualization primes our minds to be ready for what that success looks like and how we will feel when it happens. We begin to feel the effects of our words as we give that speech, we see our new job before doing the interview, we see the homerun we will hit. Visualization sets the stage. Visualization sets the stage for the rest of our preparation to take over and lead us. Visualization helps to erase self-doubt and instill the belief that we can do it.

I bring my personal athletic experiences when discussing the powers of visualization. I remember sitting in locker rooms with my eyes closed thinking about our game script and what would happen. I remember others watching Tavon Austin’s college highlight tape as their way to visualize success. Some just put headphones on and slumped into their lockers. There is no perfect way to visualize, people do what feels right for them.

More recently in my own life, I have used visualization sporadically at best. It is not an instilled habit I have, but is one that I want to grow. Visualization to me falls into the category similar to meditation and yoga, both practices I want to increase my participation in. It is my belief by making this a public statement, I will be able to follow through. I know changing my current habits to instill a proper sense of visualization time is a small change. It is just a change I need to be deliberate on making.

Join the conversation

or to participate.